Twin Sharks takes top honors in 4th Sailor’s Regatta


Scott Murray

Good sailing conditions greeted PRO Matt McGrath on the final day of the Sailor’s Regatta 2021as he ran two races for the Racing and Cruising Multis as well as the Monohulls in Ao Chalong while the Platus sailed three races to close out their series in the regatta.

John Newnham’s Twin Sharks edged out Warwick Downes’ Bonza in the prestigious Multihull Racing Class to close out the regatta. The crews finished tied on points (15) but Twin Sharks has more overall victories in the three-day series (three to two) to claim the title. So Newnham’s crew of Olly Wilce, Alf Rowson, and Jason Corall triumphed again despite being a sailor short.

A ed
Bonza never fails to draw oohs and aahs in their hull-flying and it was no different in this regatta as the trimaran raced around capturing line honours time and time again. Alan Carwardine’s Coconuts, Hans Rahmann’s Voodoo and the Scott Duncanson-helmed Fugazi rounded out the class finishing in that order.

c 1
Alfie Rowson, who recently came out of quarantine after returning from his native Scotland, gave credit to the Race Committee for modifying the courses as the regatta went on responding to the fluctuating wind conditions and directions.

e 1
Niels Degenkolw’s Phoenix won all but one race in the four-boat Monohull division capturing the class title followed by Andrew McDermott Jessandra who earned the only other victory in the series. Mike Downard’s Magic finished third and Martyn Henman’s Second Nature finished last with a DNS on race four.

d 1
Paul “Flatty” Baker’s four first-place finishes in Pulse Grey enabled Paul and his wife to take the three-boat Cruising Multihull title over Bill Kane’s The Sting and Pulse Red skipped by Simon Boyd, who also sailed with his partner in the regatta.

B 1
The Platu division could have been called the “Sail in Asia” division as all three Platus came from Mike Downard’s fleet over in nearby Ao Yon. Kirsten Durward’s Wolf had four first-place finishes and five second-place finishes to capture the division. Brooke Palmer’s Tiger was second and Jon Oeygard’s The Fox came third, after switching boats after race day one.

A big thank you goes out to PRO Matt McGrath for lending his rib as the camera boat on the final day of racing. And Brendan Kealy, once again, donated his Mark Horwood-built catamaran Catapult as the committee boat for the duration of the regatta. Hats off to Commodore Scott Duncanson and the PYC committee for staging another successful “no frills” regatta. And kudos also to James Haste for reprising his magnificent role as MC in the final awards ceremony. The PYC’s next big event is the Multihull Solutions Regatta, to be held from July 9-12.

Twin Sharks takes top honors in 4th Sailor’s Regatta